Still over quota, after deleting files

From LWP-Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

If you have deleted files, but still get notified of you disk usage being over quota, chances are the files were deleted using a GUI file manager application. Often these applications move file to some sort of "recycle bin" instead of really deleting them.

To solve, empty your "recycle bin".

If this was not the case, the following command will show the 10 largest directory (or files) in the current directory:

   du -hs  .[!.]* *  | sort -h | tail

Note: this command may take some time to finish.